Founder   Русский      English    

CHARLES KASIEL BLISS

Charles Bliss (1897-1985) was an Austrian chemist, philosopher, humanist. His life and personality were as unique as his work on Blissymbolics and his personality.

In early childhood he understood that a language could not only unite people but as well could express hatred, especially when people cried out anti-Semitic slogans toward him.

By this time Charles had been impressed by two wonderful logical languages expressed in the symbols of mathematics and chemistry which could be read by anyone no matter what their mother-tongue might be.


Having fled the captivity of the concentration camp during the Second World War, Charles Bliss moved to Shanghai. There he felt safe. Then he developed an appreciation and admiration for the Chinese ideographic language. His admiration stemmed from the fact that although the Chinese population spoke different languages, they could all understand the same written Chinese language due to its ideographic nature. This compelled him to develop a universal language that he dreamed one day would be used worldwide to break down language barriers.

After five years of developing the Blissymbolic language, he published Semantography - A Logical Writing for an Illogical World - in 1949, which finally put on paper the ideas of the German mathematician and philosopher G.W. Leibniz.

To a greater extent Charles Bliss was a philosopher and a public figure than a developer. Both Leibniz and Bliss's dream of a universal language was never realized.

However, it has provided an invaluable communication medium to many non-speaking individuals, allowing them to develop cognitively, emotionally and socially in society.

At use of materials of a site www.blissinfo.ru, the reference to the source is obligatory. Home  ||  News  ||  Articles  ||  Links  ||  Contacts
© 2009 All rights reserved.

Основоположник   Русский      English    

CHARLES KASIEL BLISS

Жизнь и личность австрийского химика, философа и гуманиста Чарльза Блисса (1897-1985) были такими же уникальными, как и его работа над блиссимволикой.

Уже в детстве он болезненно испытал на себе, что даже общий для народа язык может не только объединять людей, но и являться выразителем ненависти, например, когда люди выкрикивали ему вслед антисемитские лозунги, слова которых предназначались только для того, чтоб причинить боль.

В противовес этому он восхищался двумя логическими языками - химии и математики, символы которых могли быть одинаково прочитаны каждым независимо от национальной принадлежности. Это можно было отнести и к музыкальным нотам.


В период Второй мировой войны, вырвавшись из плена концентрационных лагерей, Ч. Блисс вынужден был скрываться в безопасном Шанхае. Восхищённый природосообразностью китайской иероглифической письменности, он принял окончательное решение о создании интернационального символьного языка для установления контактов между народами, говорящими на разных языках. Эти символы должны были быть простыми, логичными и одинаково понятными для людей всего мира. Он полагал, что общий язык будет способствовать взаимопониманию среди народов и препятствовать возникновению войн между ними.

Его изобретение было впервые опубликовано в 1949 году под названием "Семантография", от греческого semanticos - обозначающий и graphein - писать.

Чарльз Блисс в большей степени был философ и общественный деятель, чем языковой разработчик, но всё же ему удалось воплотить в жизнь мечту великого Лейбница о создании всемирного универсального языка символов.

Однако мир услышал о его символах в совершенно другой направленности.

При использовании материалов сайта www.blissinfo.ru, ссылка на источник обязательна. Главная  ||  Новости  ||  Статьи  ||  Ссылки  ||  Контакты
© 2009 Все права защищены.